chickflet <>

     Ponce de Leon, the Spanish explorer, reached the Florida coast as
early as 1513.

He landed there on Easter Sunday and called the new land "Florida", from
the Spanish

name for Easter.

     Efforts by the French Huguenots to establish colonies on the south
bank of the St.

John's River in 1564 had an encouraging beginning but ended in disaster in
a few years.

     In the 1763 peace treaty of Paris, which ended the Seven Years' War,
in which the

British and the Prussians fought France, Spain and Austria, all of her
North American

possessions east of the Mississippi were ceded by France to Britain. In the
same treaty

Spain traded Florida to Britain for Havana.

     That same year a proclamation by the King of England established among

American provinces, East and West Florida.  The two sections were divided
by the

Chattahoochee and the Apalachicola Rivers.

     Twenty years later, the Florida sections were returned to Spain in the

ending the Revolutionary War in 1783.

     West Florida was taken by the United States in 1810 and 1812, and,
after many

efforts finally succeeded in 1819 in getting Florida by promising to pay
indemnities to

her citizens who had been damaged by Spain.  The section embracing West
Florida was

added to Louisiana, Mississippi and Alabama.

     In 1821 about eight thousand whites lived in Florida, most of them

although there was a solid number of Anglo-Saxons.  As early as 1740 many

Scottish and Irish populated the Cumberland and the Shenandoah valleys and

through every southern state east of the Mississippi River.  The early
population in

the deep south was predominantly of Irish ancestry.  They built
Jacksonville in 1822,

Quincy in 1825, Monticello in 1828, Marianna and Apalachicola in 1829 and
St. Joseph in

1836.  Many wealthy people established their homes in Florida, but their
bad treatment

of the Indians caused the Seminole wars during 1835-42.

     A considerable number of Greeks from southern Greece and the
Dodecanese Islands

moved into Florida as early as 1820.  As expert sponge divers, they

themselves as energetic and successful citizens.  Religiously they were
affiliated with

the Orthodox Greek Catholic Church.

     The first railroad in the state was built in 1831 and extended from
Tallahassee to

St. Marks.  The middle section of  Florida was settled about 1820 by former

from Virginia, North Carolina and South Carolina.  Most of the people who
came to East

Florida from 1845 to 1860 had lived in Georegia, Alabama and North and
South Carolina.

     Florida became a territory of the United States in 1822 and became the
27th state

in 1845.


1830 Leon County, FL - created 1824 out of Gadsden County.
p. 133 William Sellers

1830 Monroe County, FL - created 1823 out of St. Johns County.
p. 107 Jane Seldon


1840 Leon County, FL - created 1824 out of Gadsden County.
p. 079 Johnathan Cellor

1850 Escambia County, FL - created 1822; one of two original counties.
p. 141 Sarah Zelars